Preface

Christof Gattringer

Institut für Physik, FB Theoretische Physik, Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, 8010 Graz, Austria Email: christof.gattringer@uni-graz.at

Tilo Wettig

Institut für Theoretische Physik, Universität Regensburg, 93040 Regensburg, Germany E-mail: tilo.wettig@physik.uni-regensburg.de

The XXV International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory July 30 - August 4, 2007 Regensburg, Germany





Lattice 2007, the XXV International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory, was held from July 30 to August 4, 2007 at the University of Regensburg, Germany. The conference was attended by about 440 participants from all continents (35 countries). The scientific program contained 24 plenary session talks and 338 parallel session contributions (talks and posters).

We gratefully acknowledge financial support by the following companies and institutions, which was essential for the success of the conference:

Bul	Bull
EUROTECH G R O U P	Eurotech Group
IBM	IBM
(intel)	Intel
Sun. microsystems	Sun Microsystems
DESY	Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
	Forschungszentrum Jülich
g s i	Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung (GSI)
STIFT NG HANS VIELBERTH	Regensburger Universitätsstiftung Hans Vielberth
Kneitinger Nur echt mit dem Back.	Kneitinger Brauerei Regensburg

The conference topics included: algorithms and machines; applications beyond QCD; chiral symmetry; hadron spectroscopy; hadron structure; nonzero temperature and density; standard model parameters and renormalization; theoretical developments; vacuum structure and confinement; weak decays and matrix elements.

The conference started in the evening of July 29 with a reception in the historic "Runtingersaal" in the Old Town of Regensburg. In the afternoon of August 2 the following excursions took place: BMW factory tour; Canoeing on the river Naab; Cycling in the Naab valley; Guided tour of Nuremberg; Guided tour of Regensburg; Rosenburg Castle, Prunn Castle, and Kelheim; Weltenburg Abbey. The conference dinner was held in the restaurant "Leerer Beutel" in the evening of August 3.

The members of the Local Organizing Committee were

Gunnar Bali University of Regensburg Vladimir Braun University of Regensburg

Christof Gattringer University of Graz (Chair of the proceedings)

Meinulf Göckeler University of Regensburg
Andreas Schäfer University of Regensburg
Peter Weisz Max-Planck-Institute Munich

Tilo Wettig University of Regensburg (Chair)

The members of the International Advisory Committee were

Constantia Alexandrou University of Cyprus, Nicosia
Norman Christ Columbia University, New York
Mike Creutz Brookhaven National Laboratory

Rajiv Gavai Tata Institute, Mumbai Tetsuo Hatsuda Tokyo University

Anthony Kennedy University of Edinburgh

Paul Mackenzie Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Guido Martinelli University of Rome

Herbert Neuberger Rutgers University, Piscataway

Tetsuya Onogi Kyoto University

Kostas Orginos William & Mary College, Williamsburg

Mike Peardon Trinity College, Dublin
Owe Philipsen University of Münster
David Richards Jefferson Laboratory

Stephen Sharpe Washington University, Seattle Douglas Toussaint University of Arizona, Tucson

Uwe-Jens WieseUniversity of BernAnthony WilliamsUniversity of AdelaideHartmut WittigUniversity of Mainz

The conference would not have been possible without the support of numerous volunteers. We would like to thank the following people for their help: Arifa Ali-Khan, Christoph Bauer, Jacques Bloch, Falk Bruckmann, Tommy Burch, Francis Bursa, Dipankar Chakrabarti, Sara Collins, Nigel Cundy, Heidi Decock, Christian Ehmann, Martin Gürtler, Christian Hagen, Christof Hendlmeier,

Martin Hetzenegger, Dieter Hierl, Thomas Kaltenbrunner, Christoph Lehner, Robert Lohmayer, Monika Maschek, Thilo Maurer, Bernhard Mendl, Nils Meyer, Johannes Najjar, Munehisa Ohtani, Marco Panero, Stefan Solbrig, Franz Stadler, Niko Warkentin.