

The Manchester Microlensing Conference: the 12th International Conference and ANGLES Microlensing Workshop

Eamonn Kerins

Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics, The University of Manchester, UK E-mail: Eamonn.Kerins@manchester.ac.uk

Shude Mao

Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics, The University of Manchester, UK E-mail: Shude.Mao@manchester.ac.uk

Nicholas Rattenbury

Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics, The University of Manchester, UK E-mail: Nicholas.Rattenbury@manchester.ac.uk

Lukasz Wyrzykowski

Institute of Astronomy, The University of Cambridge, UK E-mail: wyrzykow@ast.cam.ac.uk

The Manchester Microlensing Conference: The 12th International Conference and ANGLES Microlensing Workshop, January 21-25 2008, Manchester, UK

Preface

The Manchester Microlensing Conference (M2C) was held at the Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics at the University of Manchester in the UK from 21st-25th January 2008.

M2C comprised two elements: the ANGLES Microlensing Workshop and the 12th International Conference on gravitational microlensing. M2C began with the two-day Workshop, providing interactive Master Classes to around 60 researchers on selected hot topics in microlensing. The Master Classes were delivered by world-leading experts on each of the topics. The topics reflected the diverse techniques and applications of microlensing, such as crowded-field photometry, modelling of extra-solar planetary systems, and the use of microlensing in cosmology.

The 12th International Conference on microlensing followed immediately after the Workshop and was attended by around 90 researchers. The Conference covered all aspects of current research in microlensing, including: Microlensing towards the Magellanic Clouds; Cosmological Microlensing; Stellar and Galactic Microlensing; Galactic Microlensing Surveys; Follow-up Programmes and Planetary Microlensing; M31 Microlensing; and Future Directions.

The M2C Proceedings serve three functions. Through the expert master classes the M2C Proceedings provide a great starting point for those who wish to enter the field or who just wish to learn more about microlensing at a depth beyond that usually covered by a single review article. The M2C proceedings also provide a snapshot of the state-of-the art in microlensing observations and theory as of January 2008, in what is a rapidly developing field. Lastly, the M2C meeting and its Proceedings are dedicated to the memory of the late Bohdan Paczyński, a towering figure and founding father of modern day microlensing research.

The Local Organizing Committee would like to thank several people for helping to ensure that the Workshop and Conference ran smoothly: Bob Dickson, Anthony Holloway and Chris Paul for flawless computing and AccessGrid support; Lisa McDermott for her tireless administrative support; Szymon Kozlowski for a wonderful poster design; and Edward Boyce, Dandan Xu, and Sarah Bryan for their invaluable assistance throughout the meeting. We would like to pay special thanks to Prof. Ian Browne for all of his help, advice and support. Finally, we are very grateful for the substantial financial support provided by the Astrophysics Network for Galaxy Lensing Studies (ANGLES), a European Union Sixth Framework research and training network.

7th February 2008

Eamonn Kerins Shude Mao Nicholas Rattenbury Lukasz Wyrzykowski



Figure 1: The ANGLES Workshop on microlensing. (*Left*) A master class partly delivered via a live video link through the University AccessGrid network. (*Right*) Workshop participants putting theory into practice by running a cosmological microlensing simulation (Photos: A. Holloway, L. Wyrzykowski).



Figure 2: M2C meeting participants enjoy a tea break in the atrium of the Alan Turing Building at the University of Manchester (Photo: A. Holloway).

List of Participants

Timo Anguita ARI / ZAH

Jin An NBIA, Copenhagen
Hideki Asada Hirosaki University, Japan
Nicholas Bate The University of Melbourne
Virginie Batista Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris
Jean-Philippe Beaulieu Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris

Vasily Belokurov Institute of Astronomy
David Bennett University of Notre Dame
Alexander Bergier Columbia University
James Binney Oxford University

Ian Bond Institute for Information and Mathematical Sciences

Valerio Bozza University of Salerno

Sebastiano Calchi Novati Physics Department - University of Salerno

Arnaud Cassan ARI, Heidelberg University Sun-ju Chung Chungbuk National Univ.

Matt Darnley Liverpool John Moores University
Martin Dominik SUPA, University of St Andrews
Jadzia Donatowicz Technical University of Vienna, Austria

Subo Dong The Ohio State University

Jonathan Duke ARI (Liverpool John Moores Uni.) and ARI (Heidelberg)

Alexander Eigenbrod Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

Eva Eulaers Universite de Liege
Wyn Evans Cambridge University
Janine Fohlmeister ARI Heidelberg

Pascal Fouque Observatoire Midi-Pyrenees

Cesar Fuentes Harvard University
Arti Garg Harvard University
Scott Gaudi Ohio State University
Andrew Gould Ohio State University

Cheongho Han Chungbuk National University
Frederic Hessman Inst. f. Astrophysik, Univ. Goettingen
David Heyrovsky Institute of Theoretical Physics

Tobias Cornelius Hinse Armagh Observatory
Shan Hongguang Yunnan Observatory, CAS

Keith Horne SUPA St. Andrews

Markus Hundertmark Institut fuer Astrophysik, Univ. Goettingen

Richard Ignace East Tennessee State University
Christophe Jean Universidad de Valencia

Philippe Jetzer Theoretical Physics University of Zurich
Noe Kains SUPA, University of St. Andrews
Eamonn Kerins The University of Manchester
Do-eon Kim Chungbuk National University

Szymon Kozlowski Department of Astronomy, The Ohio State University

Geraint Lewis University of Sydney

Luigi Mancini Dipartimento di Fisica, Universit'a di Salerno

Shude Mao Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics

Jean-Baptiste Marquette Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris Dante Minniti P. University Catolica de Chile

Marc Moniez CNRS

Yasushi Muraki Konan University Petri Mutka University of Oulu Maiko Nagaya Nagoya University

Seyed-Abouzar Najafi-Shoushatri IPM, School of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Andrew Newsam Astrophysics Research Institute
Justin Nieusma The College of New Jersey

Byeong-Gon Park Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute

Ondrej Pejcha Institute of Theoretical Physics

Sohrab Rahvar Sharif Univ. of Tech.

Nicholas Rattenbury Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics

Armin Rest Harvard University

Davide Ricci AEOS - University of Liege

James Rich Saclay

Luca Santoro Dipartimento di Fisica, Universit'a di Salerno

Gaetano Scarpetta Universit'a di Salerno
Robert Schmidt University of Heidelberg
Jan Skowron Warsaw University Observatory

Dominique Sluse Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)

Martin SmithUniversity of CambridgeColin SnodgrassEuropean Southern ObservatoryDenis SullivanVictoria University of Wellington, NZ

Takahiro Sumi Nagoya University

Maciej Sznajder Institute of Astronomy, University of Zielona Gora

Jonathan Thornburg University of Southampton

Yiannis Tsapras LCOGT

Oleg Tsupko Space Research Institute of Russian Academy of Science

Andrzej Udalski Warsaw University Observatory Filomena Volino Argelander-Institut fuer Astronomie

Joachim Wambsganss Heidelberg University (Zentrum fuer Astronomie)

Thulsi Wickramasinghe The College of New Jersey
Przemek Wozniak Los Alamos National Laboratory

Lukasz Wyrzykowski Institute of Astronomy University of Cambridge

Philip Yock University of Auckland
Marta Zub ARI, Heidelberg University