

Foreword by the Local Organising Committee

Georg von Hippel, Harvey Meyer, Owe Philipsen, Lorenz von Smekal, Carsten Urbach, Marc Vanderhaeghen, Marc Wagner, Hartmut Wittig†

Local Organising Committee

E-mail: chair@lattice2013.uni-mainz.de

This proceedings volume is dedicated to the memory of Kenneth G. Wilson (June 8, 1936 – June 15, 2013).

31st International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory - LATTICE 2013 July 29 - August 3, 2013 Mainz, Germany

^{*}co-chair

[†]chair

Foreword

Lattice 2013, the 31st International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory, was held in Mainz, Germany, during the week from July 29 to August 3, 2013. The conference was attended by 503 participants from 31 countries, making this the largest conference in this series so far.

In addition to the 24 plenary talks, an impressive 398 parallel talks and 81 posters were presented as part of the scientific programme. The conference schedule also included meetings of the network "Women in Lattice QCD" and the International Lattice Data Grid board meeting. The scientific part of the programme was accompanied by several social events, including a welcome reception, excursions and the conference banquet in the beautiful settings of the Mainz electoral palace.

Sadly, the conference was overshadowed by the deaths of two prominent members of the lattice community: On June 15, 2013, Nobel laureate Kenneth G. Wilson, the very founder of lattice field theory, passed away at the age of 77. Shortly before the start of the conference, we learned about the sudden and unexpected death of Mikhail Igorevich Polikarpov on July 18, 2013. Scientific obituaries for both of them are contained in these proceedings.

In compiling an interesting and vigorous scientific programme, the Local Organising Committee could rely on the wide-ranging expertise of the International Advisory Committee. Special thanks go to all session chairs, especially those who were willing to serve at short notice.

The smooth running of the conference would not have been possible without the skillful and tireless support of our conference secretary Felicia Ohl and her team at the conference office (Andrea Klein, Susanne Fischer, Luise Adams, Jens Ammann, Anna Becker, and Alexander Pfeiffer), the technical support team (Dalibor Djukanovic, Klaus-Werner Krygier, Albert Maul, and Christian Seiwerth), as well as our student volunteers (Bardiya Bahrampour, Joshua Berlin, Manon Bischoff, Adrian Blum, Christopher Czaban, Arthur Dromard, Vera Gülpers, Lukas Holicki, Hanno Horch, Jiayu Hua, Benjamin Jäger, Christian Jost, Martin Kalinowski, Mathias Neuman, Konstantin Ottnad, Piotr Piasecki, Christopher Pinke, Daniel Robaina, Christian Schaefer, Alessandro Sciarra, Björn Walk, Johannes Weyrich, Falk Zimmermann). We extend our warmest thanks to all of them.

We also thank our sponsors (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, d-fine GmbH, EMG research centre, HP3 EU research network, Helmholtz Institute Mainz, Helmholtz International Center for FAIR, MEGWARE Computer Vertrieb and Service GmbH, NVIDIA Corporation, and the PRISMA Cluster of Excellence) for their financial support.

Last, but not least, we thank all speakers and participants for attending and making the conference a success.

The Lattice 2013 LOC:

Georg von Hippel, Harvey Meyer, Owe Philipsen, Lorenz von Smekal, Carsten Urbach, Marc Vanderhaeghen, Marc Wagner, Hartmut Wittig



JULY 29 - AUGUST 03 2013 MAINZ, GERMANY





















