

PROCEEDINGS OF SCIENCE

Title

Torsten Åkesson¹

Particle Physics, Lund University
Box 118, 221 00 Lund, Sweden
E-mail: Torsten.Akesson@hep.lu.se

Fourth Annual Large Hadron Collider Physics (LHCP2016) 13-18 June 2016 Lund, Sweden Preface Torsten Åkesson

The 2-7 June 2014 I had the pleasure to attend LHCP2014 at Columbia University in New York, jointly organize by Columbia and Brookhaven. The International Advisory Committee heard there our proposal to host the conference in Lund in 2016, and kindly gave us this honor.

We were pleased to be able to welcome our community in Lund, and looked forward to have presented the latest results from the LHC run-2 and the interpretations of the results.

This excitement increased during 2015 as a hint for Physics Beyond the Standard Model started to build up around 750 GeV in the $\gamma\gamma$ mass distribution. Unfortunately, the shut-down for the LHC became somewhat longer that we expected, so 2016 data could not enter into this analysis in time for the LHCP conference, but had to what until the Rochester conference in Chicago later in the summer. Nevertheless, internally in the experiments, at least in ATLAS, we knew about the results already in Lund, but our lips were sealed.

Nevertheless, many interesting results were shown based on the 2015 data (and earlier), and we got lots of insight into the interpretation of the data from the theory talks.

To organize such a conference require some work, and locally we felt that to some degree we stepped into unknown territory. Would everything work? Have we thought of everything? G. Bernardi and G. Mitselmakher with their experience from the previous conferences meant a lot for getting us on the right track, and to ensure that things were done in time; L. Lönnblad and I (the local chairmen for the conference) are very grateful for their help.

For the local organization I would like to express my thanks to R. Pasechnik who as Scientific Secretary was the central figure in getting everything working for the conference organization. I would also give a special thanks to C. Doglioni who organized the information system, B. Konya who oversaw the conference infrastructure, and P. Christiansen who did the overall planning for the social program.

I have a special thanks for the conference secretariat of C. Potter (CERN) and D. Hudson (CERN) who gave a lot of help and coordination for setting up the conference, and who were joined by B. Wlosinska (Lund) when running the secretariat during the conference itself.

We are all very grateful to the local PhD-students and Master-students who helped everywhere, including for the logistics during the sessions.

The practical arrangements with rooms, sound, projectors, food etc, were taken care of by LU Conference, a special unit inside the University, and here I would like to mention the meeting coordinator M. Nygren, the technical coordinator A. Nilsson and the main technician R. Gray. The premises of the conference was the Academic Society and M. Hempel were their helpful host.

The support for our activities was demonstrated by the generous sponsoring from CERN, the Nobel Institute for Physics at the Royal Academy of Sciences, the City of Lund, the Southern Region of Sweden, and Springer/EPJ-C. A warm thanks for their help.

We are happy that we got our community's trust to host LPCH2016, and hope that our visitors enjoyed their stay in Lund as much as we enjoyed them coming.

We wish the best for our colleagues in Shanghai for their organization of LHCP2017, and look forward to go there.

Torsten Åkesson Preface

Appendix: Committees

International Advisory Commttee

Charalampos Anastasiou (ETH, Zurich)

Federico Antinori (INFN, Padua)

Joel Butler (FNAL, Batavia)

Tiziano Camporesi (CERN, Geneva)

Marcela Carena (FNAL, Batavia)

Dave Charlton (Univ. of Birmingham)

Paolo Giubellino (CERN & INFN, Torino)

Andrei Golutvin (IC, London)

Paul Grannis (Stony Brook Univ.)

Peter Hansen (NBI, Copenhagen)

Beate Heinemann (UC, Berkeley)

Gunnar Ingelman (Uppsala Univ.)

Peter Jenni (CERN & Univ. of Freiburg)

Victor Kim (PNPI NRC KI, Gatchina & SPbSPU, St. Petersburg)

Bengt Lund-Jensen (KTH, Stockholm)

Else Lytken (Lund Univ.)

Mario Martinez-Perez (ICREA & IFAE, Barcelona)

Srini Rajagopalan (BNL, Upton)

Paris Sphicas (CERN & Athens Univ.)

Katsuo Tokushuku (KEK, Tsukuba) - IAC chair

Mike Tuts (Columbia Univ.)

Guy Wilkinson (Univ. of Oxford)

Conference Chairs

Torsten Åkesson (Lund Univ.)

Gregorio Bernardi (LPNHE, France)

Leif Lonnblad (Lund Univ.)

Guenakh Mitselmakher (Univ. of Florida)

Conference Scientific Secretary

Roman Pasechnik (Lund Univ.)

Program Committee

Juan Alcaraz (CIEMAT, Madrid)

Martin Beneke (TU, Munich)

Johan Bijnens (Lund Univ.)

Peter Christiansen (Lund Univ.)

Nathaniel Craig (UC, Santa Barbara)

Michael Czakon (RWTH, Aachen)

Rikard Enberg (Uppsala Univ.)

Luca Fiorini (IFIC & Univ. of Valencia)

Massimiliano Grazzini (Zurich Univ.)

Andreas Hoecker (CERN, Geneva) - PC co-chair

Patrick Koppenburg (Nikhef, Amsterdam)

Jim Olsen (Princeton Univ.) - PC co-chair

Hannah Petersen (FIAS, Frankfurt Univ. & GSI, Darmstadt)

Karel Safarik (CERN, Geneva)

Jessie Shelton (Univ. of Illinois)

Sara Strandberg (Stockholm Univ. & OKC)

David Toback (Texas A&M Univ.)

Preface Torsten Åkesson

Boris Tuchming (CEA, Saclay) Vincenzo Vagnoni (INFN, Bologna) Ermanno Vercellin (INFN, Torino) Lian-Tao Wang (Univ. of Chicago) Giulia Zanderighi (CERN & Univ. of Oxford)

Local Organizing Committee

Torsten Åkesson (Lund Univ.)

Johan Bijnens (Lund Univ.)

Peter Christiansen (Lund Univ.)

Caterina Doglioni (Lund Univ.)

Gösta Gustafson (Lund Univ.)

Dawn Hudson (CERN, Geneva)

Balázs Kónya (Lund Univ.)

Leif Lönnblad (Lund Univ.)

Else Lytken (Lund Univ.)

Clara Nellist (LAL)

Magnus Nygren (Lund Univ.)

Anders Oskarsson (Lund Univ.)

Connie Potter (CERN, Geneva)

Johan Rathsman (Lund Univ.)

David Silvermyr (Lund Univ.)

Malin Sjödahl (Lund Univ.)

Torbjörn Sjöstrand (Lund Univ.)

Oxana Smirnova (Lund Univ.)

Evert Stenlund (Lund Univ.)

Bozena Włosinska (Lund Univ.)

Technical Secretariat

Connie Potter (CERN, Geneva)

Dawn Hudson (CERN, Geneva)

Oxana Smirnova (Lund Univ.)

Caroline Unmack (Lund Univ.)

Bozena Włozinska (Lund Univ.)