PoS - Proceedings of Science
Volume 336 - XIII Quark Confinement and the Hadron Spectrum (Confinement2018) - A: Vacuum structure and confinement
Mass-deformed Yang-Mills theory in the covariant gauge and its gauge-invariant extension through the gauge-independent BEH mechanism
K.I. Kondo*, Y. Suda, M. Ohuchi, R. Matsudo and Y. Hayashi
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: September 12, 2019
Published on: September 26, 2019
In this talk we consider the mass-deformed Yang-Mills theory in the covariant gauge which is obtained by just adding a gluon mass term to the Yang-Mills theory with the covariant gauge fixing term and the associated Faddeev-Popov ghost term.
First, we reconfirm that the decoupling solution in the Landau gauge Yang-Mills theory is well reproduced from the mass-deformed Yang-Mills theory by taking into account loop corrections.
Second, we show that the mass-deformed Yang-Mills theory is obtained as a gauge-fixed version of the gauge-invariantly extended theory which is identified with the gauge-scalar model with a single fixed-modulus scalar field in the fundamental representation of the gauge group.
This equivalence is obtained as a consequence of the gauge-independent Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism proposed recently by one of the authors.
Third, we show that the reflection positivity is violated for any value of the parameters in the mass-deformed Yang-Mills theory to one-loop quantum corrections.
Finally, we discuss the implications for the existence of positivity violation/restoration crossover
in light of the Fradkin-Shenker continuity between Confinement-like and Higgs-like regions in a single confinement phase in the gauge-scalar model on the lattice.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.22323/1.336.0047
How to cite

Metadata are provided both in "article" format (very similar to INSPIRE) as this helps creating very compact bibliographies which can be beneficial to authors and readers, and in "proceeding" format which is more detailed and complete.

Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.