PoS - Proceedings of Science
Volume 358 - 36th International Cosmic Ray Conference (ICRC2019) - CRI - Cosmic Ray Indirect
Limits on ultra-high energy photons with the Pierre Auger Observatory
J. Rautenberg*  on behalf of the Pierre Auger Collaboration
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: September 05, 2019
Published on: July 02, 2021
The Pierre Auger Observatory is the most sensitive air-shower detector for primary photons with energies above $\sim 0.2$ EeV. Using the Surface Detector array (SD), photons in the zenith angle range from 30$^\circ$ to 60$^\circ$ can be identified through the broad time-structure of the signals expected to be induced in the SD stations. An additional signature for photon-induced air showers is the steeper lateral distribution of secondary particles at the ground with respect to nucleonic showers. Stringent limits are set to the diffuse flux of ultra-high energy (UHE) photons above 10 EeV, using SD data collected between 2004 and mid-2018 with an exposure of $40\,000$ km$^2\,$sr$\,$yr. Below 1 EeV, unprecedented separation power between primary photons and hadrons can be achieved by combining observables from the low-energy enhancements of the Pierre Auger Observatory, namely three upwards-pointing fluorescence telescopes, which can directly measure the atmospheric depth of the shower maximum, and the 750 m SD array, which again accesses the steeper lateral distribution of photon-induced air showers. For the first time, limits on the integral photon flux below 1 EeV are presented using data collected by the Pierre Auger Observatory between mid-2010 and 2015. This extends the range of photon searches at the Pierre Auger Observatory to about three decades in energy.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.22323/1.358.0398
How to cite

Metadata are provided both in "article" format (very similar to INSPIRE) as this helps creating very compact bibliographies which can be beneficial to authors and readers, and in "proceeding" format which is more detailed and complete.

Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.