Main Image
Volume 367 - XXIX International Symposium on Lepton Photon Interactions at High Energies (LeptonPhoton2019) - Posters
Neutrino CP Violation with the European Spallation Source neutrino Super Beam project
M. Dracos
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: 2019 November 13
Published on: 2019 December 17
After measuring in 2012 a relatively large value of the neutrino mixing angle $\theta_{13}$, the door is now open to observe for the first time a possible CP violation in the leptonic sector.
The measured value of $\theta_{13}$ privileges the 2nd oscillation maximum for the discovery of CP violation instead of the usually used 1st oscillation maximum.
The sensitivity at this 2nd oscillation maximum is about three times higher than for the 1st oscillation maximum inducing a lower sensitivity to systematic errors.
Going to the 2nd oscillation maximum necessitates a very intense neutrino beam with the appropriate energy.
The world's most intense pulsed spallation neutron facility, the European Spallation Source, will have a proton linac with 5 MW power and 2 GeV energy.
This linac, under construction, also has the potential to become the proton driver of the world's most intense neutrino beam with very high probability to discover a neutrino CP violation.
The physics performance of this neutrino Super Beam in conjunction with a megaton underground Water Cherenkov detector installed at a distance of about 500~km from ESS, has been evaluated.
In addition, the choice of such detector will extent the physics program to proton--decay, atmospheric neutrinos and astrophysics searches.
The ESS proton linac upgrades, the accumulator ring needed for proton pulse compression, the target station and the physics potential are described. In addition to neutrinos, this facility will also produce at the same time a copious number of muons which could be used by a muon collider.
The ESS neutron facility will be fully ready by 2025 at which moment the upgrades for the neutrino facility could start.
Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.