PoS - Proceedings of Science
Volume 390 - 40th International Conference on High Energy physics (ICHEP2020) - Posters: Beyond the Standard Model
Observation of light-by-light scattering and search for axion-like particles with the CMS experiment
R.L. Böttger* on behalf of the CMS collaboration
*corresponding author
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: February 22, 2021
Published on:
Evidence for the light-by-light scattering process, γγ → γγ, in ultraperipheral PbPb collisions at a centre-of-mass energy per nucleon pair of 5.02 TeV was reported by the CMS Collaboration at the LHC based on a data sample corresponding to an integrated luminosity of 390 µb−1. Light-by-light scattering processes were selected from the events in which only two photons are exclusively produced, each with transverse energy E_T^γ > 2 GeV, pseudorapidity | η^(γ )| < 2.4, diphoton invariant mass m^γγ > 5 GeV, diphoton transverse momentum p_T^γγ < 1 GeV, and diphoton acoplanarity below A < 0.01. 14 events were observed after all selection criteria, compared to expectations of 9.0 ± 0.9 (theo) events for the signal and 4.0 ± 1.2 (stat) for the background processes. The excess observed in data relative to the background-only expectation corresponds to a significance of 3.7 standard deviations and has properties consistent with those expected for the light-by-light scattering signal. The measured fiducial light-by-light scattering cross section, σ_fid(γγ → γγ) = 120 ± 46 (stat) ± 28 (syst) ± 12 (theo) nb, is consistent with the Standard Model prediction. The m^γγ distribution was used to set constraints on the production of pseudoscalar axion-like particles via the γγ → a → γγ process in the mass range m_a = 5–90 GeV
How to cite

Metadata are provided both in "article" format (very similar to INSPIRE) as this helps creating very compact bibliographies which can be beneficial to authors and readers, and in "proceeding" format which is more detailed and complete.

Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.