PoS - Proceedings of Science
Volume 441 - XVIII International Conference on Topics in Astroparticle and Underground Physics (TAUP2023) - Neutrino Physics and Astrophysics
The European Spallation Source neutrino Super Beam plus Project
V.Β Thara Hariharan
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: February 29, 2024
Published on: March 22, 2024
The European Spallation Source neutrino Super Beam (ESSnuSB) is a design study for a long-
baseline neutrino experiment to measure the CP violation in the leptonic sector at the second
neutrino oscillation maximum using a neutrino beam driven by the uniquely powerful ESS linear
accelerator. The reduced impact of systematic errors on sensitivity at the second maximum allows
for a very precise measurement of the CP violating parameter. The ESSnuSB CDR showed that
after 10 years of data taking, more than 70% of the possible CP-violating phase, 𝛿CP, range will
be covered with 5𝜎 C.L. to reject the no-CP-violation hypothesis. The expected value of 𝛿CP
precision is smaller than 8β—¦ for all 𝛿CP values, making it the most precise proposed experiment
in the field by a large margin. The recently started extension project, the ESSnuSB+, aims
in designing two new facilities, a Low Energy nuSTORM (LEnuSTORM) and a Low Energy
Monitored Neutrino Beam (LEMNB) to use them to precisely measure the neutrino-nucleus
cross-section (the dominant term of the systematic uncertainty) in the energy range of 0.2 – 0.6
*** Topics on Astroparticle and Underground Physics ***
*** 28𝑑 β„Ž 𝐴𝑒𝑔𝑒𝑠𝑑 βˆ’ 1𝑠𝑑 𝑆𝑒 π‘π‘‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ2023 βˆ— βˆ— βˆ—
*** University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria ***
Β© Copyright owned by the author(s) under the terms of the Creative Commons
DOI: https://doi.org/10.22323/1.441.0339
How to cite

Metadata are provided both in "article" format (very similar to INSPIRE) as this helps creating very compact bibliographies which can be beneficial to authors and readers, and in "proceeding" format which is more detailed and complete.

Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.