PoS - Proceedings of Science
Volume 441 - XVIII International Conference on Topics in Astroparticle and Underground Physics (TAUP2023) - Neutrino Physics and Astrophysics
Comparison of cross section models for neutrino-induced single pion production
K. Yamauchi*, M. Ishitsuka and Y. Hayato
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: February 14, 2024
Published on: March 22, 2024
Neutrinos in the energy range from a few hundred MeV to several GeV are relevant for the study of neutrino oscillation by atmospheric neutrino observation and long baseline experiments.
In this intermediate energy region, charged-current quasi-elastic scattering (CCQE), single pion production, and deep inelastic scattering coexist with comparable contributions.
The T2K experiment has been using CCQE events as the primary data sample to measure neutrino oscillations, whereas single pion production events are used as the signal in the recent analyses.
Single pion production is crucial in the NOvA and future DUNE experiment as they measure the neutrino oscillation at higher energy than T2K with the longer baseline.
Similarly, single pion production can be a background in proton decay searches at Super-Kamiokande and future experiments, including Hyper-Kamiokande.
Therefore, it is important to understand the cross section and kinematics of single pion production to improve the precision of neutrino oscillation parameter measurements and proton decay searches.
For this purpose, we evaluated a new model for single pion production, called the dynamical coupled-channels (DCC) model.
In this study, we compared it with the Berger-Sehgal model, which is currently used in the NEUT neutrino interaction generator and the cross section measurements from the MiniBooNE experiment.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.22323/1.441.0340
How to cite

Metadata are provided both in "article" format (very similar to INSPIRE) as this helps creating very compact bibliographies which can be beneficial to authors and readers, and in "proceeding" format which is more detailed and complete.

Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.