PoS - Proceedings of Science
Volume 449 - The European Physical Society Conference on High Energy Physics (EPS-HEP2023) - T12 Detector R&D and Data Handling
The LHCb Mighty Tracker
K. Hennessy*  on behalf of the LHCb Mighty Tracker Group
Full text: pdf
Pre-published on: January 30, 2024
Published on: March 21, 2024
The LHCb detector is set to undergo a significant upgrade during the
upcoming long shutdown 4 of the LHC. This upgrade will result in a
nearly tenfold increase in instantaneous luminosity, reaching $1.5
\times 10^{34}\mathrm{cm^2s^{-1}}$, with an integrated luminosity expected to rise
from 50 $ \mathrm{fb^{-1}}$ to 300 $ \mathrm{fb^{-1}}$. To effectively handle the elevated track
densities, the downstream tracking stations will employ silicon pixel
sensors in the inner region where particle fluences are highest.
The MightyPix ASIC is a Monolithic HV-CMOS sensor based on the
HV-MAPS families MuPix and ATLASPix, specifically designed to meet the
requirements of LHCb. The Mighty Tracker silicon detector will covering
an extensive active area of 18 $\mathrm{m^2}$ will comprise over $ 2 \times 10^9$
pixels. The first iteration of the chip, along with its features and
design are presented. Notable recent advances in the mechanical and
electronic design of the silicon modules are also shown. Progress on
prototyping developments, which focus on simulation, verification and
FPGA emulation work are outlined. The latest beam test campaigns have
yielded valuable insights into the radiation performance of precursor
chips of the MightyPix. Noteworthy highlights are presented, accompanied
by plans in place to maximise the chip's performance.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.22323/1.449.0565
How to cite

Metadata are provided both in "article" format (very similar to INSPIRE) as this helps creating very compact bibliographies which can be beneficial to authors and readers, and in "proceeding" format which is more detailed and complete.

Open Access
Creative Commons LicenseCopyright owned by the author(s) under the term of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.