PoS - Proceedings of Science
SPIN2023
SPIN2023 24-29 September 2023 Durham, NC, USA

The 25th iteration of the International Spin Symposium (SPIN 2023) was organized by Duke University and was held September 24-29 2023 at the Durham Convention Center. The Symposium is one of the pre-eminent venues bringing together theorists and experimentalists in the field of spin physics. It is held every two years, alternating between the U.S., Europe and Asia.

The conference series has been held jointly since 2000, combining the High Energy Spin Symposia and the Nuclear Polarization Conferences.
The most recent symposia were held in Charlotteville, VA (2008), J├╝lich, Germany (2010) Dubna, Russia (2012), Beijing, China (2014), Urbana Champaign, IL (2016), Ferrara, Italy (2018) and Matsue, Japan (2021).

Editorial Board

Anselm Vossen  (Anselm.vossen@duke.edu)
Thomas Mehen. (mehen@duke.edu)
Marston Copeland (Paul.copeland@duke.edu) 
Reed Hodges  (reed.hodges@duke.edu)
Gregory Matousek (Gregory.matousek@duke.edu)
Matthew McEneaney (Matthew.Mceneaney@duke.edu)
Katherine Parham (katherine.parham@duke.edu)
Connor Pecar (Connor.pecar@duke.edu)
Simon Schneider (Simon.schneider@duke.edu)

All Duke University. 
 

SPIN2018
SPIN2018 10-14 September, 2018 Ferrara, Italy

The scientific program of this Symposium includes topics related to spin phenomena in particle and nuclear physics as well as those in related fields. The International Spin Physics Symposium series combined together the High Energy Spin Symposia and the Nuclear Polarization Conferences since 2000.

Spin related observables provide unique insights in studying fundamental symmetries, fundamental interactions, particle properties and the structure of hadrons. 

Similarly, spin related experiments help to advance the understanding of nuclear reaction dynamics and of the structure of hadron-nucleon many body systems. The conference covers also technical developments and applications in the area of polarized beams, polarized targets and spin optics. 

Conference working groups include:

  • Spin physics in Nuclear Reactions and Nuclei
  • Nucleon helicity structure
  • 3D Structure of the Nucleon: TMDs
  • 3D Structure of the Nucleon: GPDs and Form Factors
  • Low Energy Spin Physics with Lepton, Photon and Hadron Probes
  • Fundamental Symmetries and Spin Physics Beyond the Standard Model
  • Acceleration, Storage and Polarimetry of Polarized Beams
  • Polarized Ion and Lepton Sources and Targets
  • Future Facilities and Experiments
  • Application of Nuclear Polarization Techniques to Other Fields